Share your feedback with us
Sixty-Four Chance Pieces by Will Buckingham

This book is listed in:

Book Description

The Chinese I Ching, or Book of Changes, is one of the oldest and strangest of all books, a masterpiece of world literature, a divination manual, and a magnet for the deranged and the obsessive. In Sixty-Four Chance Pieces, novelist and philosopher Will Buckingham puts the I Ching to work, using it to weave together 64 stories of chance and change, each flowing from one of the I Ching’s 64 hexagrams. Moving between myth, fable, and travel writing, the collection offers an attempt to make sense of the maddening, changeable book that is the I Ching, with tales of inventors and fox-spirits, ancient poets and nonexistent rulers, kleptomaniac pensioners and infernal bureaucrats. Like the I Ching itself, this new Book of Changes is a puzzle, a conundrum, and a journey of many transformations, where nothing is quite what it seems.

  • ISBN: 9789888273065 |
  • Hardcover: 260 pages |
  • Publisher: Earnshaw Books |
  • Publication date: |
  • Language: English |
  • Format: Ebook