Share your feedback with us
Pariah by Joan Williams

This book is listed in:

Book Description

Ten poignant and perceptive stories from one of the most distinctive voices in Southern literature

In these deeply affecting tales, Joan Williams captures with heart-wrenching clarity the pain and confusion of characters struggling to come to terms with a changing world. “The Morning and the Evening,” which would later be expanded into Williams’s award-winning novel of the same name, is an exquisite and unsettling portrait of a mute man’s isolation. In “Spring Is Now,” a Mississippi town grapples with its prejudices as integration becomes a reality. “No Love for the Lonely” is the touching and gently humorous story of a bachelor liberated and bewildered by the death of his overbearing
sister. In the vivid and unsettling title story, a troubled housewife faces her demons and mourns the life she never had.
Graceful, elegiac, and authentic, the stories of Joan Williams are marked by their compassion and clear-eyed insight. With remarkable skill and an astonishing generosity of spirit, she transforms the quiet lives of ordinary men and women into dazzling works of art.

  • ISBN: 9781497694675 |
  • Hardcover: 182 pages |
  • Publisher: Open Road Media |
  • Publication date: |
  • Language: English |
  • Format: Ebook